Anyone who has grown up watching cartoons like I have has no doubt come across those moments where you find yourself drooling over the food in the shows, may it be the Ninja Turtle’s pizza or the magnificent food served up by your favourite Ghibli characters. So I’ve decided toady to list all of my favourite cartoon food!

Disclaimer: Don’t read this list when you’re hungry!

Scooby-Doo and Shaggy’s Sandwiches

Image result for scooby doo sandwich

Admit it, no matter how stupidly large these sandwiches were, you wanted to try one! According to Scoobypedia the ridiculous sandwich is made up of; an entire loaf of bread, ham, ketchup, mustard, cheese, lettuce, sardines, marshmallows, fudge and finished off with an olive. It doesn’t sound so appetising now does it?

The Corn in Cinderella

Related image

I’m not sure what my attraction to this was as a kid, I think I thought this was bread or cheese maybe? It is in fact corn, which makes a lot of sense now as Cinderella was feeding this food to the chickens in the scene. The funny thing is, I don’t even like corn in real life, but for some reason I thought this looked really tasty?! Did anyone else think the same?

Howl’s Breakfast

Image result for howl's moving castle food

This may be one of many Studio Ghibli entries on this list as everyone knows, Ghibli food is the best looking food in film! Egg, bread and sometimes bacon is often a recurring theme in Ghibli food. I decided to pick Howl, Markl and Sophie’s breakfast as it looks amazing before it’s cooked, whilst it’s being cooked and whilst it’s being eaten, with thick cuts of bacon, thick bread and runny eggs. It’s currently 11pm and now I want the same breakfast, I don’t even like eggs!

Angelica Orders Out

Related image

I completely forgot about this episode until I started researching for this and I suddenly remembered how jealous I was of Angelica in this episode. The plot of this episode basically boils down to; Angelica decides to use a voice changing microphone that Stu invents to order from a Deli, when using the microphone, she sounds exactly like her mother – so like an adult, therefore she gets away with ordering loads and loads of cakes and treats and charges them to the Pickle’s account. I too have a very sweet tooth so if I had the brains and courage to do what Angelica did when I was 3 years old, you bet that I would have!

I’m going to give a small shout out to Reptar Bars here too, chocolate that can turn your tongue green? COUNT ME IN.

Related image

 

Wonderland Mushroom

Image result for alice in wonderland shrinking mushroom

Disney’s Alice in Wonderland was one of my top favourites as a kid and again, I thought this was bread!? but it is in fact, 2 halves of a mushroom – one side to make you grow taller and the other to make you grow smaller. Much like a lot of examples in this list, I don’t actually like Mushrooms but I’ve always thought that this looked good none the less.

The Naco.

Image result for kim possible naco

Everyone’s favourite Mexican dishes combined! The Naco was invented by Ron Stoppable of the Disney cartoon; Kim Possible and is a combination of nachos and a taco, it can be found at the series’ restaurant Bueno Nacho. According to the Kim Possible Wiki the Naco is made by “taking nacho chips and cheese, mixing them with the fillings of a taco, placing it all in a tortilla, and lifting up the sides to form the bag-like shape.” Some fans have even gone as far as trying to replicate the iconic dish themselves! As a kid watching Kim Possible I wanted to try these and I didn’t even like Nachos or tacos! I do now though so I may have to attempt to replicate these one day…

Simpsons’ Squishee

Related image

Lets be real here, I’m a BIG fan of slushy iced drinks, whether it’s in freezing Winter or boiling hot Summer, I am always up for a slushy fruit juice. So if the Simpsons are offering me one that’s full of sugary syrup, I want in. Squishee’s can be found at the Kwik-E-Mart and come in a variety of flavours including; Blue, Red, Lime Green, Chutney, Wheatgrass, Champagne, Plumberry, Hi-Protein Beef, Blue cleaning agent, Not Very Berry Blast and more. Actually, now I’ve read of those flavours, I may take back what I said about trying a Squishee…

Remy’s Ratatouille

Image result for ratatouille ratatouille

I know a lot of the food in this film has the ability to make your mouth water. Heck, even Remy combining Strawberry and Cheese at the start of the film looked good to me! However, the Ratatouille dish that gets served towards the end of the film to renowned food critic; Anton Ego looks the best, I guess as it’s the finale food of the film, it’s going to look the best! I can’t say that I’ve ever tried Ratatouille in real life but this film has almost persuaded me to! I’m not even that big of a vegetable fan.

Briar Rose’s 16th Birthday Cake

Sleeping-Beauty-cake.jpg

No matter how silly this cake seemed, it looked delicious! Even if it does includes some unorthodox ingredients. The cake is made up of what looks like a vanilla base and baby blue icing, the kind of icing that you can lick from the bowl afterwards, that kind of icing is way better than sheet icing. Similar to the Naco, many fans have replicated this cake for their own birthday celebrations – mop prop included!

I’ll stop it there for the time being, I’m already getting food urges! Let me know if there’s any food you think should make this list, I know I missed a few obvious ones out like Krabby Patties and “the leaning tower of cheeza” from a Goofy Movie.

Stay tuned this weekend for my weekly review of a small studio animated film!

