My thoughts on the Powerpuff Girls 2016 reboot.

My childhood consisted of 3 things: Fosters Home for Imaginary Friends, Ed, Edd n Eddy and The Powerpuff Girls. Seeing as I already have quite a large Fosters Home for Imaginary Friends tattoo and a similar Powerpuff Girls tattoo in the making, I’d say I’m quite passionate about this subject, so when it surfaced that a new Powerpuff Girls series was in the making, I had many hopes and concerns.

In June 2014 it was announced that a new series of the Powerpuff Girls was in development at Cartoon Network Studios, almost 10 years after the original series had ended, Nick Jennings who has worked on shows such as Catdog, Hey Arnold and Spongebob would be an executive producer on the 2016 Powerpuff Girls show.  Bob Boyle (Yin Yang Yo!Wow! Wow! Wubbzy!) is also set to produce, however the original creator of the Powerpuff girls Craig McCracken will not be making a return to this series, according to voice actor Tom Kenny who previously worked on other shows with McCracken including the Powerpuff Girls, Fosters Home For Imaginary Friends and Wander Over Yonder “while (Craig McCracken) is not involved he does give it his blessing.”

But why a remake now? according to Rob Sorcher, Cartoon Network’s chief content officer: “We are calling these girls back into action based upon an overwhelming demand for sugar, spice and Chemical X.”  and while I do believe that this is a valid reason to bring a show back,  I can’t help but think it may have something to do with the lack of lead female character based shows that are airing on Cartoon Network at the moment (other than Steven Universe), could the decision to bring back the crime fighting trio be linked to this? and could this be the start of more female based shows like Hi Hi Puffy AmiYumi, Atomic Betty and The Life and Times of Juniper Lee being bought back or created? and if this is the case, why not create a new show with a female lead?

I’m pretty optimistic about the reboot of this series, I think they have ideal people to produce it and I like that they’ve stayed quite close to the original art style, they haven’t done a total 360° change of design like they did for the Danced Pantsed Powerpuff Girls special in 2014. The one thing that puts me off it the tiniest bit is the change of cast, and I know this is a problem with a lot of people that have grown up with Blossom, Bubbles and Buttercup being voiced by Cathy Cavadini, Tara Strong and E.G Daily, as heartbreaking as it is to hear that the 3 actresses weren’t even approached about the new series  when they frequently post on social media about how much they enjoy playing these characters, I can almost understand why it may have been done. As much as I would of loved for the 3 actresses to reprise their role, I think that it may of been done to give the show a brand new feel, rather than a continuation of the original 1998 – 2005 series. If that is the case though, why did they bring back Tom Kenny to reprise his role as the Narrator/The Mayor of Townsville, Roger L. Jackson back as Mojo Jojo and Jennifer Hale as Ms. Keen? (weirdly enough, Jennifer Hale also voices Princess Morbucks in the original series but is only reprising her role as Ms. Keen) The new voice line up for the Powerpuff girls goes as follows: Amanda Leighton as Blossom, Kristen Li as Bubbles and Natalie Palamides as Buttercup.

In my honest opinion, I am looking forward to seeing what the new cast and crew come up with for the reboot of one of my favourite cartoon series of all time, but I’m going to be one of those people that will probably always love the original series more, simply for it’s timing and nostalgic feel. It’s the same as fans of Jurassic Park, many fans did enjoy Jurassic World but at the end of the day Jurassic Park was the one they grew up with so they enjoy it more. I am also a little worried about how the story of each episode will go down as it isn’t being written by original creator Craig McCracken (see the difference between the Dance Pantsed special that was directed by David P. Smith and the 10th year anniversary special: The Powerpuff Girls Rule! directed by McCracken).

I would of preferred for the Powerpuff Girls to be left how they were as they defined a certain time in my life between the ages of 3-9 and I liked that they’re were a fond memory and not an on going show, however I’m not going to purposely not watch it just because it isn’t exactly the same as when I was a kid, only time will tell on my final verdict.

The Powerpuff Girls 2016 series is set to release April 2016.

Composite-PPG.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

